Idaho Library Book Award Winners

2015 Winner Idaho Microbes by Steve Stuebner, published by Boise State University School of Public Service

2014 Winner All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, published by Scribner.
Honorable Mention goes to Idaho’s Place: A New History of the Gem State, edited by Adam M. Sowards, published by University of Washington Press.

2013 Winner As Rugged as the Terrain by Priscilla Wegars (Caxton Press) and Surviving Minidoka, edited by Russell Tremayne and Todd Shallat

2012 Winner Books, Bluster, and Bounty: by Susan H. Swetnam
The Association also awarded Honorable Mention recognition to two books. Anything Worth Doing by Jo Deurbrouck (Sundog Book Publishing) and Be Brave, Tah-hy! by Jack R. Williams (Washington State University Press).

2011 Winner No title selected for the 2011 Idaho Book Award.

2010 Winner  The Lonely Polygamist: a Novel by Brady Udall
Honorable Mention:  Wolfer: a Memoir by Carter Niemeyer

2009 Winner  God’s Dog’s: a Novel in Stories by Mitch Wieland
Honorable Mention:  The Good Times Are All Gone Now: Life, Death, and Rebirth in an Idaho Mining Town by Julie W. Weston
Honorable Mention:  The Fifth Generation: A Nez Perce Tale by Linwood Laughy

2008 Winner  James Castle: a retrospective  ed. by Ann Percy
Honorable mention: The Enders Hotel: a memoir by Brandon Schrand
Honorable mention:  Owyhee Canyonlands by Mark Lisk with an essay by William F

2007 Winner  At Nature’s Edge: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Artist Studio  by Henry Whiting
Honorable Mention: Five Skies by Ron Carlson

2006 Winner: A Danish Photographer of Idaho Indians: Benedicte Wrensted by Joanna Cohan Scherer
Honorable Mention: Lewis & Clark and Me by Spence Campbell

2005 Winner: The Deep Dark: Disaster and Redemption in the America’s Richest Silver Mine by Gregg Olsen, Crown Publishers
Honorable Mentions: Governing Idaho: Politics, People and Power by James B. Weatherby and Randy Stapilus and Salmon River Country by Stephen Steubner and Mark Lisk

2004 Winner: The Cyanide Canary by Joseph Hilldorfer and Robert Dugoni, Free Press
Honorable Mention: James Castle: His Life & Art, Idaho Center for the Book

2003 Winner: Traplines: coming home to Sawtooth Valley by John Rember, Pantheon Books
Honorable Mention: Polly Bemis, a Chinese American pioneer by Priscilla Wegars, Backeddy Books

2002 Winner: The Secrets of the Magic Valley and Hagerman’s Remarkable Horse, edited by Todd Shallat, Black Canyon Communications
Honorable Mention: On All Sides Nowhere: Building a Rural Life in Idaho, by William Gruber, Houghton Mifflin Company.
Special Recognition for His Contribution to the Literature of Idaho: Ford Swetnam

2001 Winner: Standing up to the Rock, T. Louise Freeman-Toole (University of Nebraska Press)

2000 Winner: Out of the Ruins, William Johnson (Confluence Press)
Honorable Mention: Home Mountains : Reflections from a Western Middle Age, Susan Hendricks Swetnam (Washington State University Press)

1999 Winner: Irrigated Eden: the Making of an Agricultural Landscape in the American West, Mark Fiege (University of Washington Press)

1998 Winner: One Winter in the Wilderness, Pat Cary Peek (University of Idaho Press)

1997 Winner: Big Trouble: a Murder, J. Anthony Lukas (Simon & Schuster)

1996 Winner: Nez Perce Women in Transition, 1877-1990, Caroline James (University of Idaho Press)
Honorable Mentions: In the Wilderness: Coming of Age in Unknown Country, Kim Barnes (Doubleday); Roadside History of Idaho, Betsy B. Derig (Mountain Press Pub. Co.)

1995 Winner: River of Life, Channel of Death: Fish and Dams on the Lower Snake, Keith C. Petersen (Confluence Press)
Honorable Mention: Smokechaser, Warren Yahr (University of Idaho Press)

1994 Winner: Sources of the River: Tracking David Thompson Across Western North America, Jack Nisbet; David Thompson (Sasquatch Books)
Honorable Mentions: Come, Blackrobe : De Smet and the Indian tragedy, John J. Killoren (University of Oklahoma Press); Snake: the Plain and it’s People, Todd A Shallat; E B Bentley (Boise State University)

1993 Winner: A Flood Cannot Happen Here: the Story of Lower Goose Creek Reservoir, Oakley Idaho, 1984, Kathleen Hedberg (Magic Valley Publishers)
Honorable Mentions: Backtracking: Ancient Art of Southern Idaho, Max G Pavesic; William Studebaker; Catherine S Fowler (Idaho Museum of Natural History); Railroad Signatures Across the Pacific Northwest, Carlos Schwantes (University of Washington Press)

1992 Winner: No awards given

1991 Winner: Building Idaho: an Architectural History, Jennifer Eastman Attebery (University of Idaho Press)

1990 Winner: Conversations: a Companion Book to Idaho Public Television’s “Proceeding on through a Beautiful Country, a History of Idaho”, Susan M. Stacy (Idaho Educational Public Broadcasting Foundation)

1989 Winner: Tiger on the Road: the Life of Vardis Fisher, Tim Woodward (Caxton Printers)

1988 Winner: Paradox Politics: People and Power in Idaho, Randy Stapilus (Ridenbaugh Press)

1987 Winner: This Crested Hill: an Illustrated History of the University of Idaho, Keith C. Petersen (University of Idaho Press)

1986 Winner: The Literature of Idaho: an Anthology, selected and edited by James H. Maguire (Hemingway Western Studies, Boise State University)

1985 Winner: Idaho Folklife: Homesteads to Headstones, Louie W Attebery; Brian Attebery (University of Utah Press ; Idaho State Historical Society)

1984 Winner: Mining Town: the Photographic Record of T.N. Barnard and Nellie Stockbridge from the Coeur d’Alenes, Patricia Hart and Ivar Nelson (University of Washington Press ; Idaho State Historical Society)


  • Links